So. Tuesday morning Castle-watching, FTW. Way better than staying up and watching half-asleep. I miss too much that way. Plus this way, there's coffee for me!
My general reactions, in the always-popular numbered list format:
1) Why, hai there, sweeps. I hadn't totally processed that you were here yet, but this episode was a pretty big clue! *g* This show really does do the big eps up in fine style, I have to say.
2) It's possible that I might have squeed like a girl when Beckett walked into Castle's apartment for the last scene. Out loud. Yes, despite the fact that it was pretty obvious it was coming. Of course, I'd never admit to it in court! But I will say that if any of you felt like writing a 'five meals Beckett shared at Castle's place' sort of fic, I can pretty much promise to flail epically in your direction.
(Other things I will not admit to in court: considering hiding under the table during the Halloween episode last week. What?!? I was in my house all by myself and things were creaking and stuff. Broad daylight outside? Pfffft. Why yes, I am a chicken, why do you ask?)
3) Kate and Alexis. These two need more scenes together, full stop.
4) How awesome were Castle and Martha together in this episode? From snarking their way through the hostage crisis to the "I love you" all the way to the end. Gah.
5) This is the first time in the entire series run that I can really remember thinking this, but that line Castle gives to the guy who ends up being the bad guy, about seeing his son again? "So you just keep thinkin' on that. You think about how you're gonna see Conner again real soon. Because I'm gonna figure out a way to get us all outta here. I promise." That was SO TOTALLY Malcolm Reynolds, not Rick Castle. I'm just sayin'. (I might have had to stop the playback and go watch it again. More than once. HEE.)
And that is all. More coffee now! Then reality. :)
My general reactions, in the always-popular numbered list format:
1) Why, hai there, sweeps. I hadn't totally processed that you were here yet, but this episode was a pretty big clue! *g* This show really does do the big eps up in fine style, I have to say.
2) It's possible that I might have squeed like a girl when Beckett walked into Castle's apartment for the last scene. Out loud. Yes, despite the fact that it was pretty obvious it was coming. Of course, I'd never admit to it in court! But I will say that if any of you felt like writing a 'five meals Beckett shared at Castle's place' sort of fic, I can pretty much promise to flail epically in your direction.
(Other things I will not admit to in court: considering hiding under the table during the Halloween episode last week. What?!? I was in my house all by myself and things were creaking and stuff. Broad daylight outside? Pfffft. Why yes, I am a chicken, why do you ask?)
3) Kate and Alexis. These two need more scenes together, full stop.
4) How awesome were Castle and Martha together in this episode? From snarking their way through the hostage crisis to the "I love you" all the way to the end. Gah.
5) This is the first time in the entire series run that I can really remember thinking this, but that line Castle gives to the guy who ends up being the bad guy, about seeing his son again? "So you just keep thinkin' on that. You think about how you're gonna see Conner again real soon. Because I'm gonna figure out a way to get us all outta here. I promise." That was SO TOTALLY Malcolm Reynolds, not Rick Castle. I'm just sayin'. (I might have had to stop the playback and go watch it again. More than once. HEE.)
And that is all. More coffee now! Then reality. :)
no subject
Date: 2011-11-01 04:30 pm (UTC)What I adored was how grown-up Castle became during the episode - when this series started he was this rich writer guy coming along for rides and now he's *really* into this - he's really becoming *one of them* >.<
Also, yes, more Kate and Alexis please! (And I love Castle and Alexis any day of the weeeeeeeek - what a great father/daughter relationship).
This show is just amazing. I love it every week.
no subject
Date: 2011-11-01 05:12 pm (UTC)Yes, definitely - much more serious than he ever could have been at the beginning of the series. He always had it in him, just needed the right people to draw it out.
I would love more Alexis in general - I was really concerned they were writing her into a corner where she wouldn't be that relevant to what was on the screen anymore, but they seem to have dealt with that nicely, without descending into melodrama. So I'm very happy with that. :)
no subject
Date: 2011-11-02 12:42 am (UTC)Am I alone in thinking she rather hated Beckett in this ep when they were hostages, and I felt she was thinking (rightly) that if Castle had never met Beckett, this would likely never have happened to him? Luckily it all turned out well at the end.
no subject
Date: 2011-11-02 01:05 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-01 04:55 pm (UTC)2. They were too darn cute at the end. Makes me grin just thinking about it.
3. YES! YES! YES! I know I read somewhere an interview with Andrew Marlow where he said one of the things he wants to try to do this season is get Alexis a little more involved in the cases and the things going on at the station. Not like she's some kind of junior detective or anything, but just find reasonable ways to draw her into that aspect of the show. I would very much like to see that, and the resulting opportunities for Alexis to have more of a relationship with Beckett. You'd think Alexis want to, you know? She seems like she'd appreciate having a strong female role model in her life like Kate.
4. Very awesome! (see comments on my LJ post...)
5. Yeah, I guess I can see that, though it didn't hit me at the time. I think it might be the wording of "thinkin' on that" it's more... colloquial? Maybe? Than Castle usually is, and that's what makes it seem more like Mal.
no subject
Date: 2011-11-01 05:09 pm (UTC)I think it might be the wording of "thinkin' on that"
It was absolutely the 'thinkin' on' - that phrasing is very ... folksy. And once I heard that I couldn't un-hear the good Captain for the rest of the bit. *g* It wasn't meant as a criticism, though, really! I watched a little Firefly a couple of weeks ago, so that probably had something to do with it. (Also, I might have cast Jewel Staite in my head as one of the characters in a novel I'm reading right now. Clearly I have Firefly on the brain?) It didn't scan as out of character, it just made me giggle. Look, it's Mal, trying to save everyone despite the odds! Nostalgia.
no subject
Date: 2011-11-01 05:23 pm (UTC)It wasn't meant as a criticism, though, really!
Ah! I get it now. Yes, you clearly have Firefly on the brain, and that's never a bad thing.
no subject
Date: 2011-11-01 05:35 pm (UTC)(Okay, now I really, really have to get off the computer. For real this time. *g*)
no subject
Date: 2011-11-01 08:04 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-02 12:56 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-01 10:44 pm (UTC)But yeah, this episode was awesome. I don't have many thoughts about it, but it made me smile from start to finish in so many ways. Yay Castle!
no subject
Date: 2011-11-02 01:00 pm (UTC)And yay Castle indeed! It's my happy place show right now, even when it is more serious.
no subject
Date: 2011-11-02 10:17 pm (UTC)Loved it...and so glad you thought so too. ;-)
I too liked that Alexis was angry and hurt and scared and took some of it out on Beckett. They really do need more scenes together....
no subject
Date: 2011-11-07 01:48 pm (UTC)I too liked that Alexis was angry and hurt and scared and took some of it out on Beckett.
Yeah, I mean, she had no one but Beckett there, so Beckett got the brunt of it. Hoping the showrunners liked how it turned out, too, so they'll engineer more scenes for the two of them!
(*fails at replying* Sorry, RL got annoyingly busy last week! Now I want a nap.)